top of page

The Grotto & Indian Head Cove

Day 2: Ontario Trip

Location: Bruce Peninsula National Park

The Grotto is a cave with a pool of clear water inside and Indian Head Cove is a scenic beach area next to the Grotto. These two popular attractions are located along the Georgian Bay shoreline in Bruce Peninsula National Park, and can be reached by hiking about a half hour from Cyprus Lake.

The hike was very easy and quick to reach this beautiful spot in Tobermory, Canada. Along the trail we saw some snakes, cedar trees and small lakes. The trail spits you out at an outlook so you have perfect 180 view of the Cove that lies before you. The turquoise water and stone ‘steps’ leading into the water were mesmerizing.

There weren’t many people here which was a delight, since I have heard there can be 100+ people enjoying the cove in the summer months. We headed left to view the Grotto first. I had seen photos of people in the pool below us, but I couldn’t figure out how to get there. We figured people must have swam to the Grotto since there wasn’t a ledge around the side by the cove either. Just after we cut our losses and sat down on the rocks to enjoy Georgian Bay, we saw a couple girls climbing down the backside of the Grotto. We snuck back to the Grotto, hoping no one else saw us as we climbed down the steep rocks to the hidden cave. We stood on the small shelf between the pool and the bay and snapped some photos before heading back up.

There was only one person I saw jump into the water. I brought my swim suit and was dying to get some awesome underwater photos in the crystal clear bay. I stripped down and slowly eased my way in. It was frigid. The water was so cold it literally took my breath away. I went in up to my belly and dipped my face in the water to check out the view underneath.

We walked around the beach area some more and up to the cliffs above. The cliffs offered a perfect birdseye view of the cove and bay. It was stunning.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page